Untitled Page

Honours, Awards & Achievements

Bharat Sharma (GenSurg) received a CIHR Master's Award for the study titled: 'Situational Awareness' in Surgery: Evaluation and Training using lessons learnt from the Aviation Industry ($17,500 - Supervisor Teodor Grantcharov)

Jeremy Freeman (H&NSurg) was one of the recipients of the Colin R. Woolf Award for Long-Term Contributions to Continuing Education

Michael Taylor (NeurSurg) ranked #2 on the Toronto Star's list of the biggest scientific discoveries of 2010.

Betty Kim (NeurSurg) has been selected as this year's Royal College Fellowship Winner.

Mike Ellis (NeurSurg) received an Award for having the top resident vascular/functional poster at the American Association of Neurological Surgeons Annual Meeting. Cleveland, Ohio, November 30-December 3, 2010.
Mike also received a Travelling Fellowship to study at the Children's Hospital Boston, January-February 2011

Ab Guha (NeurSurg) received a 2 year grant from B.R.A.I.N Child for his work on Receptor Tyrosine Kinase Expression, Activations and Inhibition in High Grade Pediatric Gliomas.
Ab also received a 5-year CIHRGrant for his work "Oncogene-containing microvesicles as mediators and messengers of tumour progression".

Jeff Wilson (NeurSurg) received a Cervical Spine Research Society Resident/Fellow grant for his project entitled "Determinants of outcomes from traumatic spinal cord injury: Development of a novel classification system to facilitate clinical trials and improved therapeutic strategies".

Michael Fehlings (NeurSurg) was awarded a Seed/ Starter Research and Education Grant for his project entitled "Investigation of the neuroprotective effects of thioredoxin for the treatment of spinal cord injury" from the Cervical Spine Research Society.

Michael Fehlings (NeurSurg) received the 3rd Place Clinical Science Award from the Cervical Spine Research Society for his paper entitled, "Anterior vs. posterior surgical approaches to treat cervical spondylotic myelopathy: Outcomes of the prospective multicenter AOSpine North America CSM study in 280 patients".
Michael was also awarded a Hansjörg Wyss Foundation Award for his project "Intervertebral disc-derived multipotent stem cell rescue of the injured spinal cord".

Loch Macdonald (NeurSurg) has been elected to the Editorial Board of the Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism

Andres Lozano's (NeurSurg) Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery Program at Toronto Western Hospital has been awarded a 1-year Fellowship Grant by Neurosurgery Research and Education Foundation (NREF). The grant is made possible with funding from Codman & Shurtleff

Michael Ellis and Peter Dirks were awarded a grant from the Ontario Ministry of Health/Ontario Stroke System to support a pilot study of a prospective pediatric cerebrovascular disease database at the Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto

Albert Yee (OrthoSurg) was one of two recipients of the 2011 Awards for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education in the category of Development and Innovation.

Ryan Neinstein (PlasSurg) was awarded Best Paper at the 2011 American Society of Reconstructive Microsurgery for his study: "The Role of Peri-operative Fluid Infusion Rate on Postoperative Complications Following Microsurgical Breast Reconstruction" (Co-supervised by Toni Zhong and Stefan Hofer).

Taiba Al-Rasheed (PlasSurg) was awarded funding to attend the Operation Rainbow mission to India from March 2 -12, 2011 by theThe Educational

Karen Cross (PlasSurg) was awarded a Mentor Canada, Johnson and Johnson Medical Companies Prize for Best Clinical Paper titled: "Multiphoton Imaging of Acute Thermally Injured Tissue: A Preliminary Assessment of an Emerging Technology" (Supervisor: Joel Fish).

Kunaal Jindal (PlasSurg) received a Mentor Canada, Johnson and Johnson Medical Companies Prize for Best Clinical Paper titled: "Results of Primary Orbital Fracture Repair: An Analysis of Morphological Outcomes", (Supervisor: Oleh Antonyshyn)

Siba Haykal (PlasSurg) received the Best Basic Science Award for the "Evaluating the Extracellular Matrix Components Following Decellularization of Tracheal Allografts Used for Airway Transplantation" (Supervisors: Stefan Hofer and Thomas Waddell)
Siba also received the Training Program in Regenerative Medicine Scholarship (supervisor - Thomas Waddell) and a PSI Resident Research Grant (supervisor - Thomas Waddell)

Kristen Davidge (PlasSurg) received the Best Clinical Paper Award for the article "Qualitative Assessment of Patient Experiences Following Sacrectomy and Reconstruction" (Supervisors: Joan Lipa and Frances Wright)

Marcelo Cypel (ThorSurg) received the Michael E. DeBakey Research Scholarship from the American Association of Thoracic Surgery, 2010

Marcelo Cypel and Thomas Waddell (ThorSurg) were awarded the Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation's Invest in Research Award, 2010

Thomas Waddell and Shaf Keshavjee (ThorSurg) received the McEwen Centre Acceleration Award: Towards Human Tracheal Decellularized Allografts, 2010 - 2012
Tom also received - the La Roche Organ Transplant Research Fund: Lung Progenitor Cell Profiling in the Development of Bronchiolitis Obliterans Syndrome; - a Physician's Services Incorporated Foundation grant: Determining the Immunogenicity of Decellularized Tracheal Allografts and a Canadian Institutes of Health Research grant to study Mitigation of Radiation-Induced Lung Damage with Richard Hill Andrew Hope.

Thomas Waddell and Alison McGuigan (ThorSurg) were awarded the NSERC-CIHR Collaborative Health Research Program: Engineering Improved Tracheal Replacement Tissues.

Takahiro Nakajima (ThorSurg) received the Young Investigator Award of the American College of Chest Physicians (supervisor - Kazuhiro Yasufuku)

Kazuhiro Yasufuku (ThorSurg) received the CIHR: Emerging Team Grant to study Nanotechnology- Enabled Image-Guided Interventions in Vascular and Lung Diseases (2010 - 2014)

Shaf Keshavjee and Mingyao Liu (ThorSurg) received a Ministry of Research and Innovation GL2 - 01-019 Grant: Molecular and Genomic Diagnostics to Improve Outcomes in Lung Transplantation.

Robert Zeldin and Carmine Simone (ThorSurg) and the Thoracic Team from TEGH have won another Quality Award from Cancer Care Ontario for their work partnering with Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH) in Barrie and setting up a successful Diagnostic Assessment Unit modelled on their previous award winning "Time to Treat" Rapid Access Lung Cancer Program.

Michael Ko (ThorSurg) received the President's Award for the Best Scientific Abstract submitted by a resident or young investigator to the Society of Thoracic Surgeons 47th Annual Meeting in San Diego.
Michael also received the Pearson Day Award and the Pearson Teaching Award, 2010

Barry Rubin (UrolSurg) was awarded the 2010 Lister Prize in Surgery for sustained excellence in surgical research over the course of a career, for his research into the mechanisms that regulate recovery of heart function after a heart attack.

Joao L. Pippi Salle (Pediatric UrolSurg) was honored on Dec. 3, 2010 with the Herbie Doctor of the Year Award for 2010 recognizing all of his contributions to underprivileged children needing care at SickKids from all over the world.

Joao L. Pippi Sale

Joao L. Pippi Sale

Thomas Lindsay (VascSurg) is the recipient of this year's Ross Fleming Surgical Educator Award. This award is presented by the Surgeon-in-Chief at UHN for Excellence in Surgical Education

Skip Navigation Links